Clerk of Court

See Clerk of Court location, address, and phone number, and public records search. Courts are legal institutions which resolve disputes between parties and rule on legal cases related to civil, criminal, and administrative matters. Courts vary between different types, such as criminal, civil, probate, family, traffic, state, federal, appeals, and common courts.

Clerk of Court
410 Walnut Street, Yankton, South Dakota, 57078
(605) 668-3080
(605) 668-5411

Nearby Courts

Court Distance
Cedar County Courthouse 19 miles
Vermillion Circuit Court 24 miles
Tyndall Circuit Court 25 miles
Olivet Circuit Court 29 miles
Knox County Courthouse 31 miles
Elk Point Circuit Court 38 miles
Parker Circuit Court 38 miles
Dixon County Courthouse 41 miles

Map and Directions to Clerk of Court

What is a court?

Courts are government institutions that administer justice in criminal and civil matters. They're mediated by one or more judges, magistrates or justices who have been appointed or elected.

Courts rely on an adversarial system of justice, which is intended to resolve disputes with fair and impartial outcomes. Their primary purpose is to decide questions of law and determine facts. Attorneys for each side present arguments and introduce evidence to support their arguments.

In some court cases, the final judgment is handed down by a jury of citizens chosen through a selection process. In other cases, a judge makes the final ruling. Cases may be heard in criminal court, civil court, or appellate court.